manga04_jpg login_tab_left_jpg
Username:   Password:    Forgot Password?
App
Try out our new iPhone application!
App
Manga Poll
Which kind of story would you find more interesting
Dystopia
Utopia
 
See Old Polls

Manga is the Japanese equivalent of comics
with a unique style and following. Join the revolution! Read some manga today!

Coded in ConTEXT

Join #baka-updates @irc.irchighway.net

RSS Feed
 
center_left_tab Reviews center_right_tab
Naruto
by Anonymous on February 16th, 2005, 11:48am

Rating - 9.6 / 10.0

User rating of this review - 3.5 out of 5
Story/Plot - 5 out of 5
Characters - 5 out of 5
Drawing Style - 4 out of 5
Enjoyment - 5 out of 5
Overall - 5 out of 5

Click here for series information

Plot/Story

12 years ago the ninja village of Kohona was attacked by a nine tailed demon fox, causing mass destruction. In a last ditch effort to save his village the Fourth Hokage ("Chief" or "leader") sacrificed himself by sealing the Kyuubi inside a new born child, Naruto. The Hokage meant for the boy to be seen as a hero, but after the Fourth's death most villagers viewed him as if he were the demon itself rather than an innocent vessel sacrificed for the good of the community. A law was passed forbidding the villagers from telling the younger generation (Naruto included) what actually happened to the Kyuubi after it's defeat. So Naruto grew up hated and alone without ever knowing why and his generation, though ignorant of his identity, learned to hate the wayward orphan as much as their parents did.

The manga opens 12 years later, introducing the prankster Naruto, now a student in ninja school, decimating Kohona's most valued public monument in what is most likely a desperate bid for attention. It follows him as he tries to realize his dream: to become the next Hokage (strongest ninja in the village) and make the villagers acknowledge him. Of course, what good is a budding ninja without a perverted sensei and two border-line hostile teammates (one a broody rival, the other an unrequited love interest) ?

It goes on from there, obviously, but that covers... maybe the first chapter. Fast paced and full of real, engaging characters, this story will draw you in and keep you glued for hours

Characters

Uzumaki Naruto- 12 year old trouble maker and worst ninja in his graduating class. He's the class clown and, of course, our protagonist: a loud, obnoxious, and stubborn orphan who smiles in spite of everything. His determination is one of his most defining characteristics, as is his unhealthy obsession with Ramen and rivalry with his teammate Uchiha Sasuke. Oh, and his specialty attack? "Sexy no Jutsu"

Uchiha Sasuke- 12 year old heartthrob and overall the best ninja from his graduating class. Also a loner, but unlike Naruto, it's by his own volition. The sole survivor of a massacre that whipped out his entire clan 5 years ago, Sasuke's dream is to become powerful enough to kill 'that' man... and nothing will get in his way (even friends).

Haruno Sakura- The smartest girl in her graduating class, but lacking any martial skills, Sakura is (much to her dismay) the object of Naruto's affections while Sasuke is similarly the unwilling object of hers. Equipped with an 'Inner Sakura' she's often left to mediate between her two bickering teammates (and almost always takes out her frustrations on Naruto... violently).

Hatake Kakashi- As Team 3's enigmatic and perverted sensei, he makes up the last of the 4 MAIN characters, though we never see his entire face. A jounin (member of the elite ninja class), he's charged with the difficult task of monitoring their progress. He does however, still manage to get in a little reading time. His pornographic book "Icha Icha Paradise" is almost always in hand.

There are far too many other characters to go into detail here, and most aren't properly introduced until after the first arch. They are all, however, engaging and enjoyable characters (even the bastards... I mean villains)

Drawing Style

Choppy but good. The character designs are well done, each is distinctive and unique, but it's not overly realistic. The drawing style it's not 'pretty' like a lot of shoujo manga is, and the background isn't nearly as detailed as in Hikaru no Go, for example. But you definitely get a feel for Naruto's world, and honestly the characters and story are so damn good you wouldn't be looking at the minute detail on the foliage much anyway, even if it was there.

Enjoyment

Definitely enjoyable. Creative, fast paced, and... well, funny, Naruto is probably my favorite manga series. Even after 247 chapters (so far) it still has tons to offer, even angst (well done angst to be specific). In short, it's amazing!

Overall

Filled with action, humor, and drama Naruto has pretty much everything you could possibly want in a manga. It's definitely worth a look.
 
Back to Reviews
Search Reviews:  
User Comments

You must login to comment for this review! Register an account.

after this many years are you have.... by ALT+CTL on May 15th, 2014, 3:21am Rating: 1

This review was for 2005 when we was kid, now tell me do you have same view like this and give this stupid story same rate ?!
In terms of art I dont have any idea since we liked from start but the main reason i drop this series is editors should understand that royal readers of naruto are grow up people now dont show childish story again again again.

There are many errors and linking them here will waste my time.
 
No Subject by sushisara on April 26th, 2010, 3:30pm Rating: 4

informative review ... but still only a 3.5 for Naruto
(even if i like Sasuke alot ... the storyline got REALLY weird since chap 425...)
 
No Subject by Aernir on March 18th, 2008, 9:38am Rating: 4

Pretty good review. And as others have said, it's a bit dated however. As i'm writing this comment, the latest released chapter is 393. The focus is currently on Sasuke, but i wouldn't say that's a bad thing. After all, he is one of the key characters in the manga, second in importance only to Naruto himself, i think i dare say.
 
No Subject by Magpie on February 3rd, 2008, 10:43am Rating: 4.5

Personally I'd give the overall series a 4.5, though the storyline is way off track now and centering around Sasuke a little too much.

I still love the series, and being as Sasuke is one of my favorite characters it really doesn't matter all that much that he's 'hogging the limelight' at the moment, so so speak.
 
meh by Hetien on November 9th, 2007, 8:31pm Rating: 4

good review, but personally i dont enjoy this series THAT much. it was good at first, perhaps because when you wrote this review they were on chap 200 somehting, and now it's like, 370, but i think the story's kinda weird and off track now. i guess it may just be an arc or somehting, but everything's about sasuke now, when the series is called "naruto". i'd give it like, a 3.5 or something
 
Show  entries per page 
You must login to comment for this review! Register an account.
Manga Search
MANGA Fu
MEMBERS
TEAM-BU


footer