manga04_jpg login_tab_left_jpg
Username:   Password:    Forgot Password?
App
Try out our new iPhone application!
App
Manga Poll
Do you spend more time on anime or manga?
I do both, but more anime
I do both, but more manga
About the same amount of time for both
I don't watch anime at all
I don't read manga at all
 
See Old Polls

Manga is the Japanese equivalent of comics
with a unique style and following. Join the revolution! Read some manga today!

Coded in ConTEXT

Join #baka-updates @irc.irchighway.net

RSS Feed
 
center_left_tab Forums center_right_tab

You are now viewing a topic.

Your take on Google Chrome

Back to Chatter Box


Pages (3) [ 1 2 3 ] Next You must be registered to post!
From User Message Body
Xeronia
Post #198323
user avatar
Member

1:17 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 1649


Haven't had any problems with it. Facebook is doing just fine. I'm liking it more and more... considering that I don't use too many browser functions myself.

moondagger
Post #198347 - Reply to (#198236) by G-17
user avatar
Member

2:40 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 548


Quote from gan17
Not tried out incognito mode either.... seems like a fancy name for "porn-mode"... heh,... just kidding.... no bashing please. shy


haha totally agree with you with that incognito thing..and im sure theres gona be a bunch of stuff wrong with google chrome it still in beta version its always like this with new things that come out..you have to wait a little while until the bugs go away in stuff

________________
i was nervous at first it was big & long & went straight up i had to try it i eased onto it & liked it! i went up & down on it.... i love escalators now! biggrin


(great onizuka ftw)
manhunter098
Post #198356
user avatar
Member

3:06 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 345


Hmm, Ive yet to encounter any actual problem and I have been using it for the past 6 hours or so, aside from it scrolling abnormally fast with the scroll wheel, which I was able to fix by adjusting the mouse settings, still a little bothersome, but not really problematic.

Rob1988
Post #198363
user avatar
Sinon
Member

3:22 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 914


One thing that is really bugging me is no Reload on right click... fuck having to move my mouse allll the way up to the reload button.... roll eyes I can't wait for the addon API to be released so we can get an adblock, I had forgotten how annoying ads could be sad

hubris
Post #198367
user avatar
Pharmakeus
 Member

3:39 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 416


I've only used it for about half an hour but I haven't run into any problems yet.
The tabs system is neither new nor innovative but it is fast. Maybe because my Firefox is loaded with too many applications (it takes a while to start up). I noticed it has a very Vista-like look but also is minimalistic. I have to give it more time to make a real informed opinion but I still think Opera's tabs are the best.

From what I've seen, Google Chrome doesn't really make use of anything new; it's most visited page tab (when opening a new tab) is very similar to Opera's speed dial albeit for frequented sites not necessarily bookmarked one (they are the same for me; my bookmarks are my most frequented pages). I am not criticizing Chrome; it's not new but not bad. I would use it for research and when I am in a hurry but if I am lazing on the internet I would use Opera (I really like the mouse gestures), if I am using the internet for more media related things I would use Firefox, and I also use Explorer periodically because it is the default for MS related services (also includes Norton etc.).

So far, it is a fine addition to my various internet browsers.

Edit: anyone notice that clicking the middle mouse button/wheel doesn't open a scrolling function? That's strange.

________________
Can you imagine an imaginary menagerie manager imagining managing an imaginary menagerie?
manhunter098
Post #198369 - Reply to (#198363) by Rob1988
user avatar
Member

3:40 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 345


Quote from Rob1988
One thing that is really bugging me is no Reload on right click... fuck having to move my mouse allll the way up to the reload button.... roll eyes I can't wait for the addon API to be released so we can get an adblock, I had forgotten how annoying ads could be sad


The solution to your refresh problem is already on your keyboard.

F5 = <3

true_grave_unit
Post #198371 - Reply to (#198363) by Rob1988
user avatar
sleepy ghost
Member

3:47 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 1140


Quote from Rob1988
One thing that is really bugging me is no Reload on right click... fuck having to move my mouse allll the way up to the reload button.... roll eyes


I find using F5 simpler since I prefer using keyboard shortcuts rather than using the mouse, but to each their own.

Chrome seems too minimalistic for my use atm, probably because I find some add-ons on firefox essential (primarily session manager and tab mix plus) to my browsing experience. It's wierd that when right-clicking the windows options in the taskbar, the task manager comes up as an option. And does anyone else have certain buttons appear with cut-off text?
like this: User Posted Image

________________
"When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained."
- Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain
Rob1988
Post #198372 - Reply to (#198369) by manhunter098
user avatar
Sinon
Member

3:48 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 914


Quote from manhunter098
The solution to your refresh problem is already on your keyboard.
F5 = <3

I know about f5 but my body will always go for the right click menu instinctively bigrazz

@true grave unit
That task manager listed is chromes task manager and shows the memory consumption and cpu time of each tab and plugin running.


Last edited by Rob1988 at 3:55 am, Sep 3

true_grave_unit
Post #198374 - Reply to (#198372) by Rob1988
user avatar
sleepy ghost
Member

3:57 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 1140


Quote from Rob1988
@true grave unit
That task manager listed is chromes task manager and shows the memory consumption and cpu time of each tab and plugin running.


Ah I see now, thanks for the info.

________________
"When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained."
- Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain
lambchopsil
Post #198378
user avatar
Archon Solon
 

4:21 am, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 7688


Btw, if you guys see strange stuff on MU that only shows up in Google Chrome, do tell us. We're here to fix things

________________
A just ruler amongst tyrants

lambchopsil---
MangaUpdates admin

Join the MangaUpdates Folding@Home team! (and help humanity)
Click here for info. Easy signup
manhunter098
Post #198482
user avatar
Member

5:56 pm, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 345


Well I did encounter my first real problem with Google Chrome. It doesnt let my scroll with the built in touch pad on my laptop. Its a pain in the ass really, but it only affects me when I dont have my mouse. So I guess Ill be using FF by day and Chrome by night.

SyaoranX
Post #198483
user avatar
Member

6:21 pm, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 91


If anyone has really read the Terms of Service for Google Chrome, you'd be surprised. Luckily someone else caught this:

http://tapthehive.com/discuss/This_Post_Not_Made_In_Chrome_ Google_s_EULA_Sucks

Also on another silly note, when you attempt to uninstall:
http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/7848/55334208ze6.png

Still set on using Google Chrome?

________________
  ∧∧ ∩
 ( ´∀`)/
⊂   ノ 
 (つ ノ  
  (ノ 
shaggievara
Post #198488
user avatar
Member

7:10 pm, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 1901


I mostly like it except for the whole google owning my soul thing.

________________
User Posted Image
KennEH!
Post #198524
user avatar
Member

10:04 pm, Sep 3 2008
Posts: 2324


I like it but will wait till developers support it more, and it doesn't take half my resources when running.

________________
User Posted Image User Posted Image
Rob1988
Post #198558
user avatar
Sinon
Member

1:24 am, Sep 4 2008
Posts: 914


Adblocking in Chrome using Privoxy.

Download Privoxy from here
1.) Install Privoxy
2.) Click on the Wrench icon in Chrome in the upper right corner
3.) Choose options>Under The Hood>Change proxy settings
4.) A windows box pops up, choose LAN settings
5.) Check "Proxy settings" and in the address setting add 127.0.0.1 and in the port 8118
6.) If you have the option, you can also check off "Bypass proxy for local settings"
7.) Click "Ok", close chrome and restart it. I've had ZERO ads.


Pages (3) [ 1 2 3 ] Next You must be registered to post!

Back to Chatter Box  Back to Top

Search This Topic:
 
Manga Search
MANGA Fu
MEMBERS
TEAM-BU


footer