banner_jpg
Username/Email: Password:
Forums

Help the Baka-Updates Folding@Home Team!

Pages (28) [ First ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 Last ] Next
You must be registered to post!
From User
Message Body
user avatar
 Member

9:02 pm, Oct 11 2008
Posts: 12


Uh Im stupid then oh well Ce la vie, thank you very much.

________________
User carries a spatula, we dont know why but we're scared
Post #219932
user avatar
Member

2:07 am, Oct 25 2008
Posts: 40


Recently joined, but haven't appear in the team list yet

I'm still currently working on my 1st protein and, given my computer's specification and internet connection, I guess it will take a long time before i could finish my 1st WU......

user avatar


8:10 am, Oct 25 2008
Posts: 10290


The internet connection doesn't matter until you actually finish a WU and have to send it to the database.

You won't show up on the team list unless you've sent in your first WU (and even then, it'll take a few hours for the team list to update itself)

________________
A just ruler amongst tyrants
Post #221389
user avatar
Member

10:21 am, Oct 27 2008
Posts: 40


The internet connection is a problem for me, i had finished my 1st WU but never succeeded in sending it back to the database

Here's a copy of my queue slot:

Slot 01 Done
Project: 4418 (Run 13, Clone 0, Gen 95), Core: 81
Work server: 171.64.122.72:8080
Collection server: 171.67.108.17
Download date: October 25 08:27:04
Finished date: October 27 02:33:11
Failed uploads: 5

user avatar


10:29 am, Oct 27 2008
Posts: 10290


Keep trying, I guess. Nothing else I can tell you...

________________
A just ruler amongst tyrants
user avatar
Member

4:13 am, Dec 10 2008
Posts: 4


Good thing to know that I’m helping humanity just by turning on my computer... DID YOU HEAR THAT MOM? embarrassed

________________
User Posted Image
Post #246455
user avatar
Member

11:37 am, Jan 8 2009
Posts: 28


Hey, now I get it!

It's pretty smart to have such F@H... since they don't need to use supercomputers...
By allowing them to utilize our CPU power, that's lazily there unused, we can help them process a huge amount of information.

My friend is also an Alzheimer's researcher and her work is pretty important.
It's good to be able to help with so little!

Where do I sign? smile wink grin

Edit:

Ho-ho-ho! I did it! biggrin

It's so hard to understand the other options they give. I only set the parameters to use the lowest cpu power as possible and left the rest blank [but name, team and password, of course].

Is everything OK? Is that alll that i have to do?

Download, install, connect?

Last edited by Dr. Love at 12:02 pm, Jan 8 2009

________________
User Posted Image
user avatar


12:56 pm, Jan 8 2009
Posts: 10290


If you see it working, it works

________________
A just ruler amongst tyrants
Post #249404 - Reply to (#26450) by vinceasuma
user avatar
 Member

9:33 am, Jan 18 2009
Posts: 75


Quote from vinceasuma
Isn't there also one for decoding information from outer space? Can you sign us up for that one too?

Yeah but the SETI people found out recently that radio waves or whatever dissipate before they can travel very far in space so it's not likely that extraterrestrials could contact us that way.

________________
My Mini-City

Database of FMA doujinshi (No longer being updated. Use The Doujinshi DB Project instead!)
Col
Post #257421
user avatar
Acting on Impulse
 Member

6:30 am, Feb 13 2009
Posts: 113


Cheers for making a folding team biggrin

I'm currently at uni studying molecular biology (3rd year) so i joined as soon as i saw you had a team. The real question though is: Are we beating 4chan?

Keep up the good work.

________________
User Posted Image
Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.
User Posted Image
Member

10:36 pm, Feb 15 2009
Posts: 1

Warn: Banned



It does it by setting its priority level on your computer to the lowest level for the process that runs it. So pretty much anything you do will have priority over it in the process que on your computer, therefore it just slows down when your are doing something that takes up your computers power and speeds back up when your idle. Also you can change its priority in its settings and change how much precentage of your comps power it will use when your idle.

NO. We don't allow that here.
Read the Rules

Last edited by Caliber at 10:57 pm, Feb 15 2009

Post #261839
Member

6:18 am, Feb 27 2009
Posts: 1


hmm... look interesting........ i'll join right away...

Post #261856
Member

7:31 am, Feb 27 2009
Posts: 332


.

Last edited by Sijy at 11:02 am, Dec 25 2015

user avatar
 Member

4:32 am, Mar 16 2009
Posts: 7


i did it i think
biggrin
in 3 min in and im already 132
yahoo cool

Last edited by crow-kun at 4:38 am, Mar 16 2009

________________
"it's Only after you lose Everything that you can gain Anything." "You only become truly strong when you have something to protect."

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage& teamnum=79419
user avatar
Crazy Cat Lady
Member

9:01 am, Mar 16 2009
Posts: 1850


Finally got around to getting this going again on my home comp, now that I have a new (faster!) one. Seems to be working fine; no issues with lagginess this time. biggrin

Edit - also back up & running on the (new) computer at work. eyes

Last edited by TofuQueen at 9:28 pm, Mar 17 2009

________________
"[English] not only borrows words from other languages; it has on occasion chased other languages down dark alley-ways, clubbed them unconscious and rifled their pockets for new vocabulary."
-James Nicoll, can.general, March 21, 1992
Pages (28) [ First ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 Last ] Next
You must be registered to post!