manga04_jpg login_tab_left_jpg
Username:   Password:    Forgot Password?
App
Try out our new iPhone application!
App
Manga Poll
For a really long, ongoing series, you prefer to
Keep reading since you're already so invested
Keep reading as long it's good
After a certain point, just stop and wait for it to finish then read the entire thing at once
Just give up reading after a certain point
 
See Old Polls

Manga is the Japanese equivalent of comics
with a unique style and following. Join the revolution! Read some manga today!

Coded in ConTEXT

Join #baka-updates @irc.irchighway.net

RSS Feed
 
center_left_tab Forums center_right_tab

You are now viewing a topic.

Help the Baka-Updates Folding@Home Team!

Back to forum


Pages (27) [ 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... Last ] Next You must be registered to post!
From User Message Body
SirGir
Post #26693
user avatar
Member

6:33 pm, Jul 13 2007
Posts: 562


Out of curiosity, who or what on here is "dmp"? (team page)

________________
User Posted Image
drunkdecoy
Post #26695 - Reply to (#26637) by monika
Member

6:38 pm, Jul 13 2007
Posts: 52


Quote from monika
i joined too, but something is wrong. "could not connect to work server". guess i need to read more about it and fix it.

That can be just be server lag or something ive had that happen some times if you just leave it on or just close and restart it, it will start up.

TofuQueen
Post #26699 - Reply to (#26578) by SirGir
user avatar
Crazy Cat Lady
Member

6:53 pm, Jul 13 2007
Posts: 1850


Quote from SirGir
I just looked at the installation instructions for that version (also on link above), and it uses such delightful gibberish as:
mkdir ~/Library/Folding@Home
cd ~/Library/Folding@Home
curl -O
tar xzf FAH_SMP_OSX.tgz


Run away! Quickly! laugh

confused Weird, I installed the console version without having to do any weird/funky/complicated stuff (and it's running just fine).

________________
"[English] not only borrows words from other languages; it has on occasion chased other languages down dark alley-ways, clubbed them unconscious and rifled their pockets for new vocabulary."
-James Nicoll, can.general, March 21, 1992
SirGir
Post #26702 - Reply to (#26699) by TofuQueen
user avatar
Member

6:59 pm, Jul 13 2007
Posts: 562


Quote from TofuQueen
Quote from SirGir
I just looked at the installation instructions for that version (also on link above), and it uses such delightful gibberish as:
mkdir ~/Library/Folding@Home
cd ~/Library/Folding@Home
curl -O
tar xzf FAH_SMP_OSX.tgz

Run away! Quickly! laugh

confused Weird, I installed the console version without having to do any weird/funky/complicated stuff (and it's running just fine).

Let-me-see... Oh, whoops, those are the installation instructions for the console version for OSX and Linux... that is IF you don't use the installer... So it is a false alarm for pretty much everyone...and completely irrelevant to Ladybrasa. dead

________________
User Posted Image
drunkdecoy
Post #26754
Member

10:42 pm, Jul 13 2007
Posts: 52


bah iam having some probs getting the program to work on both processor cores on my laptop. Its annoying since its will only run at 50 percent atm.

SirGir
Post #26761 - Reply to (#26754) by drunkdecoy
user avatar
Member

11:11 pm, Jul 13 2007
Posts: 562


Quote from drunkdecoy
bah iam having some probs getting the program to work on both processor cores on my laptop. Its annoying since its will only run at 50 percent atm.

Let's see, I guess since you clearly had the program working before... I guess the best you can do is figure out what you changed to screw it up. dead Not enough information for anyone to give you any real help though.

________________
User Posted Image
drunkdecoy
Post #26773 - Reply to (#26761) by SirGir
Member

12:04 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 52


Quote from SirGir
Quote from drunkdecoy
bah iam having some probs getting the program to work on both processor cores on my laptop. Its annoying since its will only run at 50 percent atm.

Let's see, I guess since you clearly had the program working before... I guess the best you can do is figure out what you changed to screw it up. dead Not enough information for anyone to give you any real help though.

Well my desktop is working fine.
I reformated my laptop since the last time it was working at max speed so ive changed quite a bit lol. ill figure it out after the WU its working on atm is done.

NeoFireHawk
Post #26784 - Reply to (#26699) by TofuQueen
Member

12:59 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 185


Quote from TofuQueen
confused Weird, I installed the console version without having to do any weird/funky/complicated stuff (and it's running just fine).

You don't need to do that since most of the console Command prompts have a default value that can be selected by just pressing Enter. Just don't change .exe file in any way (like moving it to another folder) because doing so will cause problems.

________________
User Posted Image
ferric
Post #26787 - Reply to (#26773) by drunkdecoy
Member

1:07 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 4


Quote from drunkdecoy
Quote from SirGir
Quote from drunkdecoy
bah iam having some probs getting the program to work on both processor cores on my laptop. Its annoying since its will only run at 50 percent atm.

Let's see, I guess since you clearly had the program working before... I guess the best you can do is figure out what you changed to screw it up. dead Not enough information for anyone to give you any real help though.

Well my desktop is working fine.
I reformated my laptop since the last time it was working at max speed so ive changed quite a bit lol. ill figure it out after the WU its working on atm is done.


Are you using the SMP version of the client? If its only using 50%of a dual core then my guess is that you have one of the regular versions which use only one thread and thus only one core or 50%.

drunkdecoy
Post #26793
Member

1:19 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 52


Yeah once the WU iam doing atm is done iam uninstalling and reinstalling that one.

vinceasuma
Post #26795
user avatar
Member

1:23 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 1199


I still get no graphic whatsoever. Is anyone else trying to run this on Vista? The work is getting done and my cpu is laggy like a muther, but I wanna see little thingies happen.

________________
Life is tough......but it's tougher if you're stupid.
User Posted Image
lambchopsil
Post #26811
user avatar
Archon Solon
 

2:04 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 8017


It's not that interesting to watch though...

Also, DO NOT choose deadlineless WU. They aren't available anymore and you'll won't be able to download any work if you choose these.

________________
A just ruler amongst tyrants

lambchopsil---
MangaUpdates admin

Join the MangaUpdates Folding@Home team! (and help humanity)
Click here for info. Easy signup
ladybrasa
Post #26847 - Reply to (#26811) by lambchopsil
user avatar
Member

3:00 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 279


Quote from NeoFireHawk
Dial up modems aren't the only ones that exist...have you ever heard of DSL modems?


No I haven't heard of a DSL modem. And yeah, the instructions are vague, and imo not very good. Just appeared the proper course of action. Reading directions first is supposed to be a good thing, ya know?

BTW, I did download the graphic version and it appears to be working so far ...

Quote from lambchopsil
It's not that interesting to watch though...

Also, DO NOT choose deadlineless WU. They aren't available anymore and you'll won't be able to download any work if you choose these.


I am wondering if this was my prob with the console version, as I selected the deadlineless WU. Of course this was because the FAQ said to! If they aren't available, then I guess the console program would've had problems downloading them!!

And my screen says about 104 days till my WU End eek

drunkdecoy
Post #26854 - Reply to (#26795) by vinceasuma
Member

3:05 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 52


Quote from vinceasuma
I still get no graphic whatsoever. Is anyone else trying to run this on Vista? The work is getting done and my cpu is laggy like a muther, but I wanna see little thingies happen.

Yeah i got one running on a vista you might want to try setting it to not go at 100 percent but like 90 or something. see if that helps you out any.

lambchopsil
Post #26891
user avatar
Archon Solon
 

5:06 am, Jul 14 2007
Posts: 8017


The initial estimate of time for a WU when you first start the program is really bad. Just wait a little while to finish a few frames and then you'll get a more reasonable estimate. (Average for most people to finish 1 WU is about 2 days if you leave the computer on nonstop. Of course, some WU take longer or shorter.)

________________
A just ruler amongst tyrants

lambchopsil---
MangaUpdates admin

Join the MangaUpdates Folding@Home team! (and help humanity)
Click here for info. Easy signup
Pages (27) [ 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... Last ] Next You must be registered to post!

Back to forum  Back to Top

Search This Topic:
 
Manga Search
MANGA Fu
MEMBERS
TEAM-BU


footer